formularioHidden
formularioRDF
Login

 

Buscar en La Rioja Turismo close

EMPIEZA A TECLEAR...

TU BÚSQUEDA NO HA OBTENIDO NINGÚN RESULTADO.

Panel Information

Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para mejorar la experiencia de navegación y ofrecer contenidos de interés. Al continuar con la navegación entendemos que se acepta nuestra política de cookies.

La Rioja Turismo

facetas
filter_listFiltrar

278 results

Castillo de Clavijo

tipo de documento Attractions

...

Clavijo

Part of the French Route to Compostela, 15 km from Logroño, stand the remains of the cliff top castle of Clavijo where according to legend, there was a battle during which the Apostle St James appeared on his white horse, to support the Christian troops.

The tale tells how the battle was planned by Ramiro I to put an end to the shameful Tribute of the Hundred Maidens which had to be handed over each year to the Emir of Cordoba under a non-aggression pact. The intervention of Santiago inspired the Christian victory and in gratitude, Ramiro I granted in Calahorra on 25 May 834, the Vow of Santiago requiring all the peasants of the north of the Iberian peninsula to pay a tithe in the form of grain to the cathedral of Santiago de Compostela

Clavijo

Part of the French Route to Compostela, 15 km from Logroño, stand the remains of the cliff top castle of Clavijo where according to legend, there was a battle during which the Apostle St James appeared on his white horse, to support the Christian troops.

The tale tells how the battle was planned by Ramiro I to put an end to the shameful Tribute of the Hundred Maidens which had to be handed over each year to the Emir of Cordoba under a non-aggression pact. The intervention of Santiago inspired the Christian victory and in gratitude, Ramiro I granted in Calahorra on 25 May 834, the Vow of Santiago requiring all the peasants of the north of the Iberian peninsula to pay a tithe in the form of grain to the cathedral of Santiago de Compostela

Cuevas de Ortigosa

tipo de documento Attractions

...

Ortigosa de Cameros


These are on the Encinedo mountain. To get to the entrance to the caves, you have to walk across the iron bridge from the shrine of Santa Lucia or via the path of the steps, from the village square.

They are the only caves in La Rioja prepared to receive tourist visits. The cave of La Pazis a total of 236 m. long. Spectacular stalactites and stalagmites, columns and other limestone formations. The cave of La Viña has a single opening for entry and exit, with a horizontal length of 114 m.

Tours are guided, in groups, and the complete visit takes about 1 hour.

Ortigosa de Cameros


These are on the Encinedo mountain. To get to the entrance to the caves, you have to walk across the iron bridge from the shrine of Santa Lucia or via the path of the steps, from the village square.

They are the only caves in La Rioja prepared to receive tourist visits. The cave of La Pazis a total of 236 m. long. Spectacular stalactites and stalagmites, columns and other limestone formations. The cave of La Viña has a single opening for entry and exit, with a horizontal length of 114 m.

Tours are guided, in groups, and the complete visit takes about 1 hour.

...

Casalarreina

The Bishop of Calahorra y La Calzada, Don Juan Fernández de Velasco and his niece, Doña Isabel Alonso de Guzmán y Fernández de Velasco were its founders. The young girl entered the monastery taking the name Sister María de La Piedad and her uncorrupted body is still kept there.

Cardinal Adriano Florenz was asked to bless and inaugurate the monastery in 1522 on the occasion of his visit to the “Casa de la Reina”, the town's old name, on his way to Rome where he was going to be confirmed and enthroned as Pope under the name of Adrian VI.

The sisters of the Dominican Order took possession of the monastery in 1523, although during the war of Independence they had to move to Burgos as the monastery had become a Field Hospital.

The monastery took ten years to be completed (1514-1524), using materials of the highest quality, thus obtaining great uniformity of style.

The monastery church is in "Catholic Monarch" style, with a big main chapel and octagonal transept and apse. In the centre of the nave is the tomb of the founder, a smooth reddish jasper mound with no other decoration except the inscription. The reredos is dedicated to the Passion of Our Lord and particularly the Pity. >The main cloister has two levels, the lower covered with tierceron cross vaulting. The central keystones of the vaults depict allegories of the Passion with various symbols and attributes. The upper cloister, covered with a flat wooden roof, and with stretches of balusters between the columns, is one of the parts with the richest ornamental decoration.

The main door of the church is conceived in the late Gothic style in the form of a big altarpiece mad of stone.





Casalarreina

The Bishop of Calahorra y La Calzada, Don Juan Fernández de Velasco and his niece, Doña Isabel Alonso de Guzmán y Fernández de Velasco were its founders. The young girl entered the monastery taking the name Sister María de La Piedad and her uncorrupted body is still kept there.

Cardinal Adriano Florenz was asked to bless and inaugurate the monastery in 1522 on the occasion of his visit to the “Casa de la Reina”, the town's old name, on his way to Rome where he was going to be confirmed and enthroned as Pope under the name of Adrian VI.

The sisters of the Dominican Order took possession of the monastery in 1523, although during the war of Independence they had to move to Burgos as the monastery had become a Field Hospital.

The monastery took ten years to be completed (1514-1524), using materials of the highest quality, thus obtaining great uniformity of style.

The monastery church is in "Catholic Monarch" style, with a big main chapel and octagonal transept and apse. In the centre of the nave is the tomb of the founder, a smooth reddish jasper mound with no other decoration except the inscription. The reredos is dedicated to the Passion of Our Lord and particularly the Pity. >The main cloister has two levels, the lower covered with tierceron cross vaulting. The central keystones of the vaults depict allegories of the Passion with various symbols and attributes. The upper cloister, covered with a flat wooden roof, and with stretches of balusters between the columns, is one of the parts with the richest ornamental decoration.

The main door of the church is conceived in the late Gothic style in the form of a big altarpiece mad of stone.





...

Anguiano

The name of the monastery, Valvanera, comes from a Latin expression, “Vallis Venaria” which means " “Valley of the veins of water" since the valley had lots of springs, streams and waterfalls.. The origin of the building of the shrine dates back to the discovery of a 9th-century image of Saint Mary by a repentant thief called Nuño Oñez, according to the “Historia Latina” written by the Abbot of Valvanera, Don Rodrigo de Castroviejo in 1419. It is the Latin translation of a 13th century text possibly written by Gonzalo de Berceo in the "vulgar mother" tongue.

The primitive community of hermit monks which built up around the discovery of the image in the 10th c. gave way to Benedictine friars. Originally, there was a Visigoth church, then a Pre-Romanesque one consecrated in 1073, another Romanesque one from 1183 of which only a tower remains standing, and finally the current 15th century church.

The main altar of the church holds the niche of the Virgin of Valvanera, which can be reached from the side. The upper part is presided over by a “Pantocrator” figure of Christ, and below there are figures representing St Peter, St Paul, St Benedict and St Atanasio.

The rest of the monastery is composed of 20th century buildings in honour of the Patron Saint of La Rioja. Homage is paid to Valvanera as the most important carving. The author and date of this work are unknown, but from its characteristics, it could be a sculpture in the Byzantine-Visigoth style. Its origin comes from the context of the renewed Marian fervour in Spain in the first half of the ninth century.

Anguiano

The name of the monastery, Valvanera, comes from a Latin expression, “Vallis Venaria” which means " “Valley of the veins of water" since the valley had lots of springs, streams and waterfalls.. The origin of the building of the shrine dates back to the discovery of a 9th-century image of Saint Mary by a repentant thief called Nuño Oñez, according to the “Historia Latina” written by the Abbot of Valvanera, Don Rodrigo de Castroviejo in 1419. It is the Latin translation of a 13th century text possibly written by Gonzalo de Berceo in the "vulgar mother" tongue.

The primitive community of hermit monks which built up around the discovery of the image in the 10th c. gave way to Benedictine friars. Originally, there was a Visigoth church, then a Pre-Romanesque one consecrated in 1073, another Romanesque one from 1183 of which only a tower remains standing, and finally the current 15th century church.

The main altar of the church holds the niche of the Virgin of Valvanera, which can be reached from the side. The upper part is presided over by a “Pantocrator” figure of Christ, and below there are figures representing St Peter, St Paul, St Benedict and St Atanasio.

The rest of the monastery is composed of 20th century buildings in honour of the Patron Saint of La Rioja. Homage is paid to Valvanera as the most important carving. The author and date of this work are unknown, but from its characteristics, it could be a sculpture in the Byzantine-Visigoth style. Its origin comes from the context of the renewed Marian fervour in Spain in the first half of the ninth century.

...

Alfaro

Testimony to the lush vegetation which accompanied the winding course of the Ebro, where the riverbanks today represent privileged redoubts for wildlife. What in olden days must have constituted a wide, extensive riverbank passage following the Ebro on both banks today is broken up into stretches. Tiny enclaves with rich diversity.Entering deep into the thickets or approaching banks and beaches, means entering one of the richest and most varied ecosystems of our territory.
Permanent exhibition and projection which tackles the nature reserve of the Riverbanks of the Ebro, the stork colony and the history of Alfaro.

Alfaro

Testimony to the lush vegetation which accompanied the winding course of the Ebro, where the riverbanks today represent privileged redoubts for wildlife. What in olden days must have constituted a wide, extensive riverbank passage following the Ebro on both banks today is broken up into stretches. Tiny enclaves with rich diversity.Entering deep into the thickets or approaching banks and beaches, means entering one of the richest and most varied ecosystems of our territory.
Permanent exhibition and projection which tackles the nature reserve of the Riverbanks of the Ebro, the stork colony and the history of Alfaro.

...

Lumbreras de Cameros

The Transhumance centre is located between the Shrine of Our Lady of the Light and the Venta de Piqueras inn. The exhibition seeks to give an overview of a livestock activity which has generated its own grazing culture in the Sierra de Cameros. It consists of three modules with texts, photographic material and the traditional objects used by the herdsmen and shepherds, as well as models and the reproduction of atmospheres.


Lumbreras de Cameros

The Transhumance centre is located between the Shrine of Our Lady of the Light and the Venta de Piqueras inn. The exhibition seeks to give an overview of a livestock activity which has generated its own grazing culture in the Sierra de Cameros. It consists of three modules with texts, photographic material and the traditional objects used by the herdsmen and shepherds, as well as models and the reproduction of atmospheres.


...

Villoslada de Cameros

The Visitors' Centre of the Natural Park is a new building inaugurated in May 1999, located at the crossroads of the roads to the shrine of the Virgin of Lomos de Orios and to Montenegro de Cameros.

Permanent exhibition on the most interesting features of the Natural Park, through panels, models and materials. An audiovisual show is projected (10 minutes) about the changing scenery, transhumance, and the customs and traditional way of life of the people of the Cameros.

Educational activities are arranged for school parties and groups. Information is available about the basic network of walking paths of the Natural Park, the Park of Sculptures and rules for vehicle traffic on tracks with restricted access.

Villoslada de Cameros

The Visitors' Centre of the Natural Park is a new building inaugurated in May 1999, located at the crossroads of the roads to the shrine of the Virgin of Lomos de Orios and to Montenegro de Cameros.

Permanent exhibition on the most interesting features of the Natural Park, through panels, models and materials. An audiovisual show is projected (10 minutes) about the changing scenery, transhumance, and the customs and traditional way of life of the people of the Cameros.

Educational activities are arranged for school parties and groups. Information is available about the basic network of walking paths of the Natural Park, the Park of Sculptures and rules for vehicle traffic on tracks with restricted access.

...

Lumbreras de Cameros

The ethnographic museum is located in a house in the high quarter, near the church, in the calle Real of San Andrés de Cameros. It is divided over three floors and contains an interesting collection of tools, furniture, home and traditional school, in memory of the life and customs of the villages of Pajares and San Andrés, after the building of the Pajares dam. A Roman tombstone from the 1st century AD is of special note.


The now restored communal oven of San Andrés is located next to the fountain and the house of the ethnographic museum, near the church. It can be visited.


Lumbreras de Cameros

The ethnographic museum is located in a house in the high quarter, near the church, in the calle Real of San Andrés de Cameros. It is divided over three floors and contains an interesting collection of tools, furniture, home and traditional school, in memory of the life and customs of the villages of Pajares and San Andrés, after the building of the Pajares dam. A Roman tombstone from the 1st century AD is of special note.


The now restored communal oven of San Andrés is located next to the fountain and the house of the ethnographic museum, near the church. It can be visited.


...

Arnedo

Collection of minerals and fossils, prehistoric tools and teaching material.

Arnedo

Collection of minerals and fossils, prehistoric tools and teaching material.

Casa de las Ciencias

tipo de documento Attractions

...

Logroño

Temporary exhibitions

Logroño

Temporary exhibitions

...

Calahorra

This museum exhibits religious art from the Diocese of Calahorra

Calahorra

This museum exhibits religious art from the Diocese of Calahorra

...

Nájera

This museum has artefacts from prehistory, Roman times, the Middle Ages and art and ethnography from the Nájera area.

Nájera

This museum has artefacts from prehistory, Roman times, the Middle Ages and art and ethnography from the Nájera area.