formularioHidden
formularioRDF
Login

 

Buscar en La Rioja Turismo close

EMPIEZA A TECLEAR...

TU BÚSQUEDA NO HA OBTENIDO NINGÚN RESULTADO.

Panel Information

Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para mejorar la experiencia de navegación y ofrecer contenidos de interés. Al continuar con la navegación entendemos que se acepta nuestra política de cookies.

La Rioja Turismo

facetas
filter_listFiltrar

4 results

...

Cañas

The monastery has accommodation with a large inner patio. The Carmelite nuns who live there make delicious monastic cakes and sweets.

This Cistercian Abbey is one of the first to have been founded in Spain. Felipe Díaz de Haro, 9th Lord of Biscay and his wife, doña Aldonza Ruiz de Castro in 1170 gave the towns of Cañas and Canillas to the nuns of the monastery of Hayuela for them to found an Abbey in this spot.

Construction of the monastery was slow and there are three clearly distinguishable phases, the Romanesque of which there are barely any signs remaining, the Gothic, which would correspond to part of the church and chapter house, dating from the second half of the 13th c., and the later part from the 16th c., in which the construction of the central nave continued, with the side naves remaining unfinished. The main door to the monastery dates from 1757, with the part where the nuns live being the latest addition chronologically. Many of the stones used for the church still bear the marks of the mason who made them.>

The monastery church surprises you with its light through the large windows. The great Renaissance altarpiece is the work of Andrés de Melgar and Guillén de Holanda, commissioned by the Abbess, doña Leonor de Osorio around 1523 as a triptych, in which the theme is essentially based on Mary. Until 1975 it was in the presbytery, but is now to be seen at the foot of the church.

The doorway of the chapter house is of note for its unusual beauty, with three pointed arches decorated with plant motifs. Inside, is the early 14th c., gothic style tomb of the sister of charity, Doña Urraca López de Haro, daughter of the founders who took orders at a very early age and became the fourth abbess of the community. She died in 1262, and her body has been preserved incorrupt.

The abbey has been a pioneer of fibre optics, in the two museums it has: the Relics Room, which contains four groups of collections dating from the year the monastery was founded until the 20th c. among the numerous items on display, a Spanish Moorish casket from the 11th and 12th centuries of Cordoban origin is of note; and the museum of the tithe barn or store, in which various altarpieces have been displayed which existed n the churches, carvings, reliefs and paintings of special interest.

The community of Cistercian nuns who have lived uninterruptedly in the abbey since its foundation devote their time to handicrafts and prayer. They decorate china, make sweets, rosaries and have a small hospice.

Cañas

The monastery has accommodation with a large inner patio. The Carmelite nuns who live there make delicious monastic cakes and sweets.

This Cistercian Abbey is one of the first to have been founded in Spain. Felipe Díaz de Haro, 9th Lord of Biscay and his wife, doña Aldonza Ruiz de Castro in 1170 gave the towns of Cañas and Canillas to the nuns of the monastery of Hayuela for them to found an Abbey in this spot.

Construction of the monastery was slow and there are three clearly distinguishable phases, the Romanesque of which there are barely any signs remaining, the Gothic, which would correspond to part of the church and chapter house, dating from the second half of the 13th c., and the later part from the 16th c., in which the construction of the central nave continued, with the side naves remaining unfinished. The main door to the monastery dates from 1757, with the part where the nuns live being the latest addition chronologically. Many of the stones used for the church still bear the marks of the mason who made them.>

The monastery church surprises you with its light through the large windows. The great Renaissance altarpiece is the work of Andrés de Melgar and Guillén de Holanda, commissioned by the Abbess, doña Leonor de Osorio around 1523 as a triptych, in which the theme is essentially based on Mary. Until 1975 it was in the presbytery, but is now to be seen at the foot of the church.

The doorway of the chapter house is of note for its unusual beauty, with three pointed arches decorated with plant motifs. Inside, is the early 14th c., gothic style tomb of the sister of charity, Doña Urraca López de Haro, daughter of the founders who took orders at a very early age and became the fourth abbess of the community. She died in 1262, and her body has been preserved incorrupt.

The abbey has been a pioneer of fibre optics, in the two museums it has: the Relics Room, which contains four groups of collections dating from the year the monastery was founded until the 20th c. among the numerous items on display, a Spanish Moorish casket from the 11th and 12th centuries of Cordoban origin is of note; and the museum of the tithe barn or store, in which various altarpieces have been displayed which existed n the churches, carvings, reliefs and paintings of special interest.

The community of Cistercian nuns who have lived uninterruptedly in the abbey since its foundation devote their time to handicrafts and prayer. They decorate china, make sweets, rosaries and have a small hospice.

...

Cañas

The holiday cottage La Posada Del Santo is a country house with 5 bedrooms, newly built (2008) and located very close to the Cistercian Abbey of Santa María de San Salvador, founded in 1170. It is one of the best examples of the Gothic, still inhabited by a community of Cistercian nuns, in an atmosphere of tranquility and relaxation.

The house is well integrated in the urban area, but with total independence to enjoy the rural life. Features:
Exterior: barbecue, Garden, garden furniture, terrace.
Interior: bathroom in room, heating, fireplace, kitchen, collection of games, dining room, DVD or vídeo, hifi, washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, living room, television.
Services: cot available, information about the area, breakfast served.
Situation: asphalted entrance, separate, in the town, signposted.

Activities
Wine Route
Route of the Monasteries
Route of the Castilian Language
St James' Way
Skiing (Valdezcaray(38 km)
Golf (Rioja Alta club de golf)(4 km)  

Places of interest
Santo Domingo de La Calzada (12 km)
Ezcaray, with its typical architecture of the area. (25 km)
Nájera, Court of Kings.(13 km)
San Millán de la Cogolla, with the Monasteries of Suso and Yuso, cradle of the Castilian language.(8 km)
Logroño, capital of La Rioja, with its famous tapas on Calle Laurel.(41 km)
Briones, Dinastia Vivanco Wine Museum (20 kms)  


Cañas

The holiday cottage La Posada Del Santo is a country house with 5 bedrooms, newly built (2008) and located very close to the Cistercian Abbey of Santa María de San Salvador, founded in 1170. It is one of the best examples of the Gothic, still inhabited by a community of Cistercian nuns, in an atmosphere of tranquility and relaxation.

The house is well integrated in the urban area, but with total independence to enjoy the rural life. Features:
Exterior: barbecue, Garden, garden furniture, terrace.
Interior: bathroom in room, heating, fireplace, kitchen, collection of games, dining room, DVD or vídeo, hifi, washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, living room, television.
Services: cot available, information about the area, breakfast served.
Situation: asphalted entrance, separate, in the town, signposted.

Activities
Wine Route
Route of the Monasteries
Route of the Castilian Language
St James' Way
Skiing (Valdezcaray(38 km)
Golf (Rioja Alta club de golf)(4 km)  

Places of interest
Santo Domingo de La Calzada (12 km)
Ezcaray, with its typical architecture of the area. (25 km)
Nájera, Court of Kings.(13 km)
San Millán de la Cogolla, with the Monasteries of Suso and Yuso, cradle of the Castilian language.(8 km)
Logroño, capital of La Rioja, with its famous tapas on Calle Laurel.(41 km)
Briones, Dinastia Vivanco Wine Museum (20 kms)  


...

Cañas

Accommodation for animals: dogs, horses, etc. Horse riding itineraries through different landscapes. Family atmosphere. Located opposite the Monastery of Cañas.941 379 150

Cañas

Accommodation for animals: dogs, horses, etc. Horse riding itineraries through different landscapes. Family atmosphere. Located opposite the Monastery of Cañas.941 379 150

La Casona de Cañas

tipo de documento Restaurants

...

Cañas

Specialising in traditional home cooking. With an excellent location opposite the monastery. 

Cañas

Specialising in traditional home cooking. With an excellent location opposite the monastery. 
filter_list

Filtrar

close

Find

facetas
Town
Region