Buscar en La Rioja Turismo close



Panel Information

Cookies no aceptadas



tipo de documento semantico destination

Long Description:

Huércanos is a municipality in the autonomous region of La Rioja.
-Location: It is part of the district of Nájera. Huércanos is close to the River Yalde and the surrounding landscape climbs gradually towards the east, ending with the El Cuento Mountain at 821 metres, close to the San Antón hill.
-Area: 18.7 km2.
-Height: 516 metres.
-Economy: Population numbers have changed throughout the century and began to drop from 1960 onwards. The municipality's main activity is farming and the main crops are grapes, grain and potatoes.

Tourism resources:

El Rollo was first a gibbet, then a pillory, until Carlos I transformed it into a jurisdictional symbol. It was recently rebuilt, so it has lost most of the original stone. The upper part is kept in the city council. The Parish Church of San Pedro was built in the 16th century, with covered chapels dated 17th century and an 18th century Baroque portal, as the previous one collapsed. It was built over the old 10th century church. It has a single nave with chapels between the buttresses and an octagonal chancel with five facing walls. In its interior the Rococo presbytery stalls and several reredos of the 17th and 18th centuries are worth mentioning. The San Pantaleón Chapel, patron saint of the village, is situated in the city centre. It was built in 1657, after the plague that devastated the area, because of the creation in 1657 of the Brotherhood de San Pantaleón. It has beautiful surrounding areas. It has a brick that, according to traditions, young people step on with their right foot to get married.


Number of inhabitants: 898
Local festivals: On 27 July, San Pantaleón. On 12 October, Virgen del Pilar. On the last Saturday in April, "Water for 24 hours" procession. This is in remembrance of a royal privilege granted in 1506 after a fire, by which Huércanos gained the right to store water from the river Yalde.
District: La Rioja Alta
Distance to the capital (Km): 25
Distances to other places (Km): Logroño: 25, Pamplona: 64.8, Soria: 92, Vitoria: 109, Burgos: 115
AEMET identifier: 26079

About this resource...